Home » Lady Gaga, “Drive My Car” among the winners of the New York Film Critics Circle

Lady Gaga, “Drive My Car” among the winners of the New York Film Critics Circle

by Stewart Cole

The New York Film Critics Circle announced its winners on Friday morning – and they adored Japanese cinema, Italian accents and a western.

One of the first critical groups to participate in the awards season was the East Coast organization, which consists of more than 50 journalists from publications such as Time, Vanity Fair and Variety, named “Drive My Car” by Ryusuke Hamaguchi the best film of 2021. The image shared by Sideshow and Janus Films, representing Japan for the International Feature Film category at the Oscars body was clearly in love with Netflix “The Power of the Dog”, which won three major awards – most of any movie.

The NYFCC winner for Best Picture usually had a strong correlation with the Best Picture category at the Oscars. Since being nominated in 2009, only “Carol” (2015) and last year’s “First Cow” (2020) have lost recognition. The latter was the first film to win New York’s top award and failed to win a single Oscar. This foreshadows not only a long international, but a custom script, and now for an image and a director. There is also a voice support pocket for the protagonist Hidetoshi Nishijima, who could be an entry spoiler in line.

Lady Gaga confirmed her status as Best Actress by making her first appearance in the Ridley Scott’s “House of Gucci” awards season. Despite mixed reviews, box office receipts have been favorable for the film, and an expected Oscar for arguably the greatest artist in the world will not only help the film’s chances in other Oscar categories, but will likely also help the overall Oscar ratings. However, Gaga faces stiff competition from Nicole Kidman as Lucille Ball (“Being the Ricardos”) and Kristen Stewart as Princess Diana (“Spencer”). The last three selections from the NYFCC – Sidney Flanigan for “Never Rarely Some Always” (2020), Lupita Nyong’o for “Us” (2019) and Regina Hall for “Support the Girls” (2018) – all failed to gain the recognition of the Academy. The last winner to match AMPAS was Cate Blanchett in “Blue Jasmine” (2013).

“The Power of the Dog” was the first film recognized by the team, winning several major victories as it progressed in the morning. Jane Campion was named Best Director for the Netflix Drama for a rancher, Phil Burbank (Benedict Cumberbatch), who fought his demons in 1920s Montana. Cumberbatch, meanwhile, won -McPhee was named Best Supporting Actor. Cumberbatch, who won an Oscar for “The Imitation Game” (2014), is at the top of a series of best actors including NBR winner Will Smith (“King Richard”). Five of the NYFCC’s last 10 selections have won the Academy, with only two winners matching within that time frame – Daniel Day-Lewis for “Lincoln” (2012) and Casey Affleck for “Manchester by the Sea” (2016).

Smit-McPhee plays Peter, a young man who lives on Phil’s ranch and has a complicated relationship with him. The Australian actor, who started alongside Viggo Mortensen in “The Road” (2009), could secure a place in the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor, in addition to Belfast’s men – Jamie Dornan and recipient of the NBR, Kiaran. Hinds – who are confused. Only three runners-up at the NYFCC have lost Oscars in the last decade – Albert Brooks for “Drive” (2011), Matthew McConaughey for “Bernie” and “Magic Mike” (2012) and Chadwick Bozeman for ” Da 5 Bloods “. (2020).

After being named Best Director by NBR, Paul Thomas Anderson added a trophy for Best Screenplay to the list of awards for “Licorice Pizza”. This is his second screenplay award from the NYFCC, after winning “Phantom Thread” (2017), for which he received an Oscar surprise.

As the Witch, singer Kathryn Hunter unexpectedly won Best Supporting Actress for her role in Apple Original Films / A24 ‘s “The Tragedy of Macbeth.” A adaptation of William Shakespeare’s famous play “Macbeth”, the film stars Denzel Washington and Francis McDormand. Hunter’s chances have increased significantly in what is easily the most competitive second female role field in the last 30 years. Nominees also include Rita Moreno (“West Side Story”), Caitriona Balfe (“Belfast”) and Kirsten Dunst (“The Power of the Dog”). The New York Film Critics Circle is known to have a passion for certain performers (such as Tiffany Haddish for “Girls Trip” and Patricia Clarkson for “Far From Heaven”), which has not translated into an Oscar.

The best animated film was the hilarious “The Mitchells vs. the Machines “by director Mike Rianda and co-director Jeff Rowe. Released on Netflix and produced by Phil Lord and Chris Miller, who were blatantly rejected for “The Lego Movie” (2014), but received redemption by winning “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse” (2018) , seem to have another strong shot at gold.

In a year full of monochrome cinema, the East Coast band chose a color with Steven Spielberg’s “West Side Story” winning the Janusz Kamiński Film Award. This is Kamiński’s second award after winning another Spielberg film, “Schindler’s List” (1993).

Two neon nominees, “The Worst Person in the World” by Joachim Trier and “Flee” by Jonas Poher Rasmussen, won awards for foreign and non-fiction films, respectively. It could not have happened at a better time, as the voting for the Oscars starts exactly one week from today, on December 10th.

Last year, the NYFCC selected “First Cow,” a favorite indie drama directed by Kelly Reichardt, as the best film, although it failed to win any Oscar nominations. Chloé Zhao was named Best Director for “Nomadland”, one of the many awards she swept on her way to the Oscars.

This week, the National Review Board named “Licorice Pizza,” Anderson’s 1970s adult drama, the best film of the year. And Steven Spielberg’s “West Side Story” premiered with rave reviews, leading some experts to predict that he is the new, last champion in the race for the Oscars next March.

Three special awards were also given Friday to Maya Cade for creating the Black Film Archive, NYFCC General Manager Marshall Fine, and a posthumous report for Diane Weyermann, a Sundance executive and Participant.

The following is a complete list of NYFCC winners:

Best Movie: “Drive My Car” (Sideshow and Janus Films)

Best Director: Jane Campion, «The Power of the Dog» (Netflix)

Best Actor: Benedict Cumberbatch, «The Power of the Dog» (Netflix)

Best Actor: Lady Gaga, «House of Gucci» (MGM / United Artists Releasing)

Best Second Male Role: Kodi Smit-McPhee, «The Power of the Dog» (Netflix)

Best Female Interpretation: Kathryn Hunter, “The Tragedy of Macbeth” (Apple Original Films / A24)

Best Scenario: Paul Thomas Anderson, «Licorice Pizza» (MGM / United Artists Releasing)

Best Animated Film: «The Mitchells vs. the Machines »(Netflix)

Best Photo: Janusz Kaminski, «West Side Story» (20th Century Studios)

Best First Movie: Maggie Gyllenhaal, «The Lost Daughter» (Netflix)

Best Foreign Language Film: “The Worst Man in the World” (Norway)

Best non-fiction film: “Flee” (Neon)

Special Award: Maya Cade for the creation of the Black Film Archive

Special Award: Diane Weyermann, a posthumous award for supporting bold and impressive films at Sundance and Participant

Special Award: Marshall Fine for years of service as director general of the NYFCC and decades in the New York movie scene

Predictions for the 2022 Oscars

Related Videos

Leave a Comment