Home » Release Date of the New West Side Story Movie Set Soundtrack

Release Date of the New West Side Story Movie Set Soundtrack

by Stewart Cole

The upcoming film adaptation of director Steven Spielberg West Side Story The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack will be released digitally on December 3, with physical release coinciding with the movie’s release date of December 10. The album will feature cast members from the film, including Ansel Elgort, Rachel Zegler, Mike Faist, Ariana DeBose, David Alvarez and Rita Moreno.

The digital release will include the film’s 21 songs on Dolby Atmos, a speaker technology that features upward-pointing channels to surround the listener more fully. The physical versions of the album, which will include a vinyl release in early 2022, will include notes from the film’s music advisor, Oscar-winning filmmaker John Williams.

Bernstein’s music is played by the New York Philharmonic with additional music from the Los Angeles Philharmonic under the direction of their Musical Director Gustavo Dudamel.

West Side Story“For me, as well as for all of us in the world of music, it is part of my DNA,” says Dudamel. “Every melody in it is so natural and easy for anyone to process. Of course, I felt right to work with the New York Philharmonic, the Bernstein Orchestra, and the musicians to be part of the new chapter of this masterpiece. “

“I dedicated this film to my father, but it was my mother ‘s love for music, combined with my insatiable appetite for filmmaking, that led me to start collecting soundtrack albums when I was a kid. “, Says Spielberg. “I liked it West Side Story cast album from the first time I heard it. As a kid, I used to sing all his songs outside – and I sang them, until I ran out of patience with my whole family. The score is like it has always been a part of me and I think this is the greatest music ever written for musical theater. “My sincere hope is that the young people out there will find this album and fall in love with it as hard as I do.”

Adapted from the 1957 Broadway musical with a book by Arthur Lorenz, music by Leonard Bernstein and lyrics by Steven Sonnheim, the film includes a screenplay by Tony and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Tony Cole and choreography by Justin Peck.

West Side StoryHis band includes Orchestrator David Newman, Supervisor Vocal Producer Jeanine Tesori and Executive Music Producer Matt Sullivan, who are also producing the soundtrack album. Spielberg and Kristie Macosko Krieger are executive soundtrack producers.

To pre-order the West Side Story soundtrack, Click here. See the list of tracks below.

West Side Story Original Movie Soundtrack 2021 “/>

West Side Story Original Movie Soundtrack 2021

Hollywood Records

1. Preface
2. La Borinqueña (Sharks version)
3. Jet Song
4. Something is coming
5. The Dance at the Gym: Blues, Promenade
6. The Dance at the Gym: Mambo
7. The Dance at the Gym: Cha-Cha, Meeting Scene, Jump
8. Maria
9. Balcony scene (tonight)
10. Go to Scherzo / Scherzo
11. America
12. Gee, Officer Krupke
13. One hand, one heart
14. Cool
15. Tonight (Quintet)
16. The Rumble
17. I feel beautiful
18. Somewhere
19. A Boy Like That / I Have a Love
20. Final
21. End appropriations

Related Videos

Leave a Comment