Home » Winners list 2021 – Deadline

Winners list 2021 – Deadline

by Stewart Cole

The New York Film Critics Circle named Kodi Smit-McPhee Best Supporting Actor for his performance in The Power of the Dog.

The New York Film Critics Circle began voting this morning for the 2021 awards, with the band taking its usual place as the early barometer of the film awards season.

The NYFCC, founded in 1935, includes reviews from daily and weekly newspapers, magazines and online publications, and tends to favor more independent fares. Last year, he chose Kelly Reichardt and A24’s First cow as its Best Movie, the Marquise among 12 categories to grab. Chloé Zhao, who eventually won two Oscars for Searchlight’s Nomadland (Best Picture and Best Director), won the group’s Best Director Award a year ago.

Previous winners of the NYFCC Best Picture include The Irishman (2019), Roma (2018), Lady Bird (2017), La La Land (2016), Carol (2015) and Childhood (2014).

This year, the films that have been released in the wider area of ​​New York, either in cinemas or on digital platforms from January 1 to December 31, are eligible. The winners will be honored at the NYFCC Awards Festive Dinner scheduled for Jan. 10 at Tao Downtown.

The NYFCC marks the second of the first group of critics to weigh in on awards this season. On Thursday, the National Review Council voted in favor of Paul Thomas Anderson Pizza with licorice from MGM and United Artists Releasing as his Best Picture, with Anderson also getting Best Director.


Best Supporting Actor: Kodi Smit-McPhee for “The Power of the Dog”

Below is the list of NYFCC categories.

Keep checking all morning as the winners are filled.

Best Movie

Best Director

Best First Movie

Best Actor

Best Actor

Best Female Interpretation

Best Scenario

Best Photo

Best Foreign Language Film

Best non-fiction film

Best Animated Film

Related Videos

Leave a Comment